2014 Scholarship Awardees

How can we save our children? One child at a time. Each year the Pressley Green Scholarship helps another young person get closer to their dream. Yes, with your help, we are making a difference. Please make a donation this year. Thank you.

$1000 Scholarships


Alexis Denise Edge –  Detroit Edison PSA


Alexandrea Adams – Cranbrook Kingswood


Candice Wright – Cass Technical


Joshua Moore – Renaissance High School


Juan Gutierrez – Western International


Popy Aziz  – Detroit International Academy


Nivea Brown – Cass Technical High School

Brianna Moore – Cass Technical High School

Brain A. Petty, II – Communications and Media Arts


Diamond Thomas – Cass Technical High School


Cryserica Jeter  – Renaissance High School

Vincent & Betty Little

Shermaya Lorainey – Detroit International Academy

Allahnon Turner – Osborn High School

Asya Alexander – Ferndale High

Justin Hitchcock – Lutheran High School

Larry Harten-Roy – Henry Ford Academy

Nicholas Mutebi – University of Detroit Jesuit*

2013 Awardees

Iresha Spears Detroit International Academy

j’Nel Stephens-Danzler Cass Tech. HS

Antoine Crews University of Liggett

Antara Afrin Cass Tech. HS

Andrew Dickens Old Redford Academy Prep

Charles Hurt Cass Tech. HS

Elayne Elliott Cass Tech. HS

Guadalupe Salazar Cass Tech. HS

Ariel Walker Cass Tech. HS

Natalie Tilbert Renaissance

Donté Verrill-Huffman University Prep

Lacie Parham Cass Tech. HS

Juan Lopez Westerna International

2012 Awardees

Mark McGinnis Renaissance

Lawrielle West Cass Tech

Paige Bennett DSA

Deja Anderson Renaissance

Devin Robinson Old Redford Academy

Alexis Farmer Renaissance

Deonte Hargrove Consortium

Malik Harris Cass Tech

Jaribeth Disla Western International

Kristal Walker Inkster High

Najera Chowdhury Detroit International Academy

Chris Jefferson King High

2011 Awardees

La’Shay Johnson Crockett

Marshall Burns Detroit Art & Science

Briana Mitchell Renaissance

Mercedes Simpkins Detroit International

Victor Landry Davis Aerospace HS

Kishon Thomas Wilcher Cass Tech

Jovonne Jones Mumford

Crystal Carr Martin Luther King HS

Abiola Akinpelu Inkster H.S.

Tamara Sullen Northwestern HS

DeJaun Rose Detroit Midtown Academy

Adron Wright Robichaud High School

2010 Awardees

Richard Brinkley Cass Tech. HS

Demetrius Edwards Cass Tech. HS

Nicole Mitchell Renaissance HS

Fatima Sow Cass HS

James Curenton II U of D Jesuit HS

Anthony Kinsey U of D Jesuit HS

Denzel Warren Renaissance HS

Shanara Burke Mumford HS

Antonio Douthet Northwestern HS

Johnetta Williams Cooley HS

Steven Rendon Western International HS

Tracy Gallardo Western International HS

Jamison M. Harris Brother Rice HS

Ashley Otis DSA HS

2009 Awardees

Jordan Mathis Cass Tech. HS

Phoebe White Martin Luther King

Christian Cardisle Detroit Technology

Clarence Houston Finney HS

Raven Stubbs Detroit School of Arts

Jared Milburn Detroit School of Arts

Christine Quince Renaissance HS

Lloyd Williams Martin Luther King

Jennifer Futch Martin Luther King

Mario Davis Kettering HS

Grace Zeigler Western International

Brain Cole Detroit School of Arts

Jazmine Gaymon Northwestern HS

Chamira Cole Martin Luther King

2008 Awardees

William Cooper WSU

Andre Thompson Morehouse Ebony Houston MSU

Daija Covington U of M

David Bellomy Michigan Tech. U.

Ronald Mills U of M

Ana Diaz WSU

2007 Awardees

Crya Donald WSU

Anber L. Peden Kalamazoo College

Kanika Seyoum MSU

Tenira Townsend Oakland U.

Ryan Edwards Ohio

Dwayne Riley U of M

Akila Johnson MSU

Ellis Johnson MSU

2006 Awardees

Willie Adams U of Detroit  Mercy

Theodore U of Detroit  Mercy

Andrea Hudson U of M

Zun-Quenvyun U of M

Christine Griffin Spelman

Aaron Davis Blowing Green University

Ashante Thomas Central Michigan

Shiwanda Govan U of M

Brittney Wright U of M

Willie Adams U of Detroit  Mercy

Theodore U of Detroit  Mercy

Andrea Hudson U of M

Zun-Quenvyun U of M

Christine Griffin Spelman

Aaron Davis Blowing Green University

Ashante Thomas Central Michigan

Shiwanda Govan U of M

Brittney Wright U of M

2005 Awardees

Shaundra Crittenden Yale

Jennifier Webb U of M

Kenneth Perry U of M

Shaquitta Stanley U of M

Evette Hollis U of M

Alaina Flowers Howard U.

Phillip Morgan Michigan State U

Fatema Haque Michigan State U

2004 Awardees

Nichole Goodman

Randall Smith Cornell

DeAndra Jones Michigan State U

Curtis Tarrant U of M

Michelle Braxton Wayne State

Karlynne Jones Michigan State U

Michael Fox, Jr. Western U

2003 Awardees

Jonathan King Michigan State U

DeAndre’ Wright Michigan State U

Mary Miller Vilonila

Tashawina Hawkins Wayne State

Kelley Lewis Wayne State

Philip Seaborn Big Rapids

2002 Awardees

Regina c. Eburuche Michigan State U

Keondra S. bills Fordham University New York

Tanisha K. Tate University of Michigan

Isoke s. Bills Howard University

Jemel Purse Kettering University

2001 Awardees

Kellee Ralain Lewis Wayne State U

Jerone Jones Creative Atrs

Tenisha E. Austin University of Michigan

Dorian Michael D.Davenport Morehouse college

Malaika A. Nelson Chapman University California

2000 Awardees

Michalel Fox, Jr.

Anthony Turner Wayne State University

Sharletta Martin Wayne State University

Marvin Cole Florida A&M University

1999 Awardees

1999 William Kuhn Buthune Cookman 1999 Ester Hobbs Henry Ford CC

1998 Awardees

Joelle Johnson Michigan State University

Dierdre D. Shelton Howard University
Kevin Watts
Kettering University
Anthony Lake
Kettering University
1997 Awardees

Anneesha Rains Michigan State University

1996 Awardees

Dia Hodnett Wayne State University

Kahina King
Western University
Daryl Cain will complete his B.S. at University of Michigan, majoring in engineering in 2000. Daryl is well on his way.

1995 Awardees

Makerra A. Bostic graduated from University of Michigan with a B. S. in Movement science. The study of the brain in relationship to the movement of the body and its effects on the human system. Her research will improve the quality of life for all of us. Markerra is also continuing her education

1994 Awardees

Mark Sequeira Morehouse University

1993 Awardees

LaMark Johnson General Motors Institute (GMI)

1992 Awardees

Cicely Vaughn John Hopkins University

Geneva Smith
Southern University – Texas
1991 Awardees

Carolann Grant Purdue University

Dimitrius Riley
Butzel Center Grant-Summer Internship
Chelsea Young returned to Cass Technical H.S. to teach after receiving her B.S. . She is now living in Chicago; a nation wide Computer Consultant for Arthur Anderson Associates. CPA, a Systems Company.
1990 Awardees

Okechukwu Dike U.S. Naval Academy

Jeannette Duhart
Wayne State University
Deanna Naugles
University of Michigan

Other Recipiants:

1989 Awardee

Oliver Banks
University of Michigan

1988 Awardee

Amber J. Tweh
Massachusetts Inst. Tech.

1987 Awardee

Tannis Rogers
General Motors Institute (GMI)

1986 Awardee

Kaseen Sauls
Michigan State University

1985 Awardee

Cyem Clavon
General Motors Institute (GMI)

1984 Awardee

Belinda Peoples
Wayne State University

1983 Awardee

Brandon Dent, a Design Manager for three teams of engineers at Yazaki – North America. They provide electrical systems for over 20% of the vehicles in the world today. Brandon and his wife Alice have three children. Brandon is also fulfilling his commitment to the community as Deputy Director of a boys youth group, Path Finders. He sings with Young Men of God (YMG) and is a member of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity.

1982 Awardee

David Branch
Lawrence Tech.